What are you looking for?

VDI 3601 – Warehouse Management Systems

In Guideline 3601 - "Warehouse Management Systems", the Association of German Engineers (VDI) describes which requirements a Warehouse Management System (WMS) should fulfill. The VDI thus answers a question that has been around for years: When are…

Batch formation in picking

Batch formation during picking, also known as batch picking or multi-order picking, is a form of two-step picking and is used in picking forms such as series-oriented, parallel picking. Requirements from several individual orders are combined in…

Storage and retrieval machine

A storage and retrieval machine (SRM) is a storage device with which load units can be stored, transferred and retrieved. The storage, transfer and retrieval performance of a storage system depends on the following factors of the storage equipment…

The beginnings of logistics

Even before the invention of the wheel, materials were transported, handled and stored. Even then, the effort required especially for the material flow was enormous - initially without any degree of automation. The term intralogisticsis still quite…

Definition – Value chain

A value chain describes how value is created through a chain of activities and combined in processes. The value chain is also referred to as process chain or performance chain. Establishment of a value chain To analyze a value chain, a company's…

Sorter (Packing) – Basics

After the picking business process, the product is passed on to the sorter (packing department). However, the sorter and the downstream packing department are only available for two-stage picking. It is not required for single-stage picking, because…

Lean Management

Lean management also has several sub-categories, such as lean thinking, lean production and lean supply chain. It describes various methods and procedures to optimally plan the processes of the value chain for industrial goods. The goal of this…

Single-stage picking – basics

During picking, a certain quantity of articles is picked from an assortment and put together. Picking in a warehouse can be single-stage or multi-stage. In single-stage picking, the picker always works on an order-related basis as he moves through…

Definition – Transshipment logistics

Goods handling is a function of intralogistics and takes place between the external goods flow and the internal material flow. The cargo of a means of transport is loaded onto an internal means of transport or vice versa, i.e. from an internal means…

Picking – definition and picking methods

Picking stands for the assembly of goods and merchandise according to specified orders from an available overall assortment. Depending on the customer in question, the order can be compiled on an order-related basis or without an order. These…

Overview of common manufacturing principles

Different principles can be applied in manufacturing. Some products are manufactured according to forecasts, without specific sales order With other products production only starts after the reception of a sales order. Push and pull systems…

Push system and pull system in supply chains

Supply chain management refers to the value chain from the supplier to the end consumer. Depending on the direction of the supply chain, there are two systems. The push system and the pull system. A company can trigger the production or delivery of…

Advance Shipping Notice

An Advance Shipping Notice (ASN), also advice note or avis, is a piece of preliminary information on the delivery of goods or the delivery of payment. In the following, this article will use the abbreviation ASN. ASN in the movement of goods Due to…

Modernization: retrofit in intralogistics

Term retrofit refers to the modernization of machines and equipment. It includes the terms conversion, renovation, and retrofitting. In intralogistics, retrofit is used to fully exploit the potential of older facilities. Modernizations or…

Material throughput time

The material throughput time is the time required to run through all business processes, for example, in a warehouse or distribution centre. The calculation of the lead time begins with Goods receipt and ends when the material is made available for…

Time strategies: throughput and delivery time reduction

Besides the just-in-time and just-in-sequence methods, other time strategies can be used to ensure that materials are in a constant flow. A smooth material flow has a positive effect on throughput and delivery times. Cost reducing time strategies…

Mobile and stationary loading units

Loading units are collections of goods that are transported, transhipped or stored as they pass through the supply chain. In contrast to stationary units, mobile units can be freely transported, stacked and moved. Mobile loading units Good examples…

Potential analysis in intralogistics

A potential analysis is a comparison of company performance with the given expectations for said company. In logistics, it is also known as a logistics audit and is used as a future-oriented, strategic planning tool. Processes and structures of the…

Performance analysis in logistics

A performance analysis examines various service points in logistics for their contribution to value creation. This involves checking at what cost and in what quality the service points of logistics areas, such as procurement, production,…

Transport strategies: Overview

Transport strategies are used to execute existing transport orders. Transportation strategies can be used for transportation planning to route the transport units to the appropriate destinations. There are four transport strategies: station…

Continuous conveyor / discontinuous conveyor

Both the continuous conveyor and the discontinuous conveyor belong to the conveyor technology category. Both systems are used to transport goods from one place to another. They differ in that the continuous conveyor generates a constant transport…

Overview of linear sorter systems

The linear sorter, or shoe sorter, is an automated sorting and distribution system on which the goods are transported and distributed to their designated stations by a sliding mechanism. This sorting and distribution method is a continuous material…

Electronic Product Code (EPC)

The electronic product code EPC is an international product identification. Each product can thus be identified worldwide and it is intended to replace the European Article Number (EAN). The EPC is stored in an RFID transponder. The code is…

Decision making for discontinuous conveyors

In a transport system that does not convey continuously, the decision as to whether a transport object can be transferred from one location to another is made directly in the control system. In the first step, this depends solely on the physical…

Procurement logistics

Logistics encompasses all tasks for planning, controlling, providing and optimizing processes along the value chain. Procurement logistics comprises the complete view of all processes of the goods purchasing process up to the transport of goods to…

Basic warehouse planning – actual state analysis and target concept

Once the target has been set, an actual state analysis including the identification of weak points is carried out during warehouse planning. On this basis, first in the rough planning, then in the detailed planning, a target concept is created,…

Overview of “Last-in-First-out” and “First-in-First-out” storage strategies

LIFO (last-in-first-out) and FIFO (first-in-first-out) are two different strategies for storing and retrieving goods. What is Last-in-first-out? The last-in-first-out principle describes a storage strategy in which the goods that were put into…

The Kaizen System

The Kaizen system is a Japanese management system that provides for a continuous improvement process across all areas of the company through the participation of all employees. Literally translated Kai means "change, transformation" and Zen "for the…

Kanban system

The Kanban system is a planning system for production control. the Kanban system is often split into material flow and replenishment are controlled starting from the processing location, based on the goods used here. Since it is not possible to act…

Definition – Automatic small parts warehouse

An "automated small parts warehouse" (AS/RS) is a storage system in which small-volume units such as screws or electronic parts are stored. Small parts warehouses are always automated in comparison to high-bay warehouses. An AS/RS consists of the…

The degree of utilisation/the capacity utilisation

The degree of capacity utilisation describes the proportion of the capacity used by…

Definition of Accounting / Bookkeeping

The term accounting describes the comprehensive recording, storage and analysis or evaluation of…

Buffer line

A buffer section is used to intercept jams within the material flow, to avoid bottlenecks and idle…

Returns processing

Returns handling describes several processes in the return of goodsordered - mostly - online. They…

Storage capacity/storage economy

Storage capacity is defined as the maximum number of loading units that a warehouse can hold. It…

Host system (ERP system)

The host system (usually an ERP system) is a central data processing system that can be accessed…

Definition of order processing in intralogistics

Order processing includes all formal processes such as order transmission, data processing and…

Heijunka lean method

The Japanese lean method Heijunka pushes a production where the production flow of the parts market…

Assortment width and assortment depth

The assortment available in a warehouse and in the retail trade is subdivided into the assortment…

Lean Production

Lean Production describes a method with the goal to react quickly to outside influences on…

The distribution center

A distribution center is an interface in the form of a building complex that functions exclusively…

Order throughput time

When an order is received in a logistics centre, it passes through various processes until it is…

The barcode – EAN, GTIN and GS1 standard

Barcodes have successfully established themselves over other systems in recent years. The barcode…

The identifier can hold unique information about the inventory.

Overview and definition of ident carriers

In order to be able to identify an object without any doubt throughout the entire logistics chain,…

Production management

According to business economist Werner Kern, production management is an operational service…

Data Mart: the local warehouse database analysis

Data mart describes the use of a database that is only a department-specific part of the overall…

Serial Shipping Container Code (SSCC)

Overview – Serial Shipping Container Code (SSCC)

Each shipping unit, which can be a pallet or a carton, for example, is automatically assigned a…

Defintion and advantages of consignment

The term consignment refers to a form of delivery of goods in which the supplier acts as consignor…

FEM 9.831 Berechnungsgrundlagen für RBG-Hochregallager

FEM 9.831 Calculation basis for stacker cranes for high-bay warehouses

FEM 9.831 is a standard for the use of stacker cranes in high-bay warehouses. The standard…

Distance selling contract

A distance contract is a contract concluded between an entrepreneur and a consumer by means of…

Definition of Same Day Delivery

Same Day Delivery means that inventory is delivered on the same day it was ordered. Ordered today,…

Master data

In intralogistics, master data, also known as primary data or reference data, is data that contains…

Also available in Deutsch (German)

Ergonomie im Lager

Ergonomie im Lager zielt auf die Anpassung und Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen, die unter der Berücksichtigung der menschlichen Physis dem Arbeiter eine möglichst komfortable Verrichtung von Tätigkeiten ermöglicht. Dem entgegengesetzt verläuft auf den…

Rückwärtslogistik

Während die Logistik den Produktionsweg hin zum Kunden abbildet, schließt die Rückwärtslogistik, auch Rückführlogistik genannt, diesen Halbkreis mit einer möglichst effizienten Planung, Steuerung und Entsorgung von Materialien zu einem ökonomischen…

E-Commerce: der Onlinehandel

E-Commerce, auch Electronic Commerce, steht für den elektronischen Handel im Internet. Dabei werden die Geschäftsprozesse zwischen Unternehmen sowie die kaufmännischen Geschäftsbeziehungen zwischen Unternehmen und Verbrauchern abgebildet. E-Commerce…

Doppeltiefe Lagerung

Die doppeltiefe Lagerung ist eine Lagerstrategie, die es durch den Einsatz spezieller Lagerregale und Regalbediengeräte ermöglicht, zwei Lagereinheiten hintereinander im selben Regalfach zu lagern. Die Regalfächer sind entsprechend tiefer; sprich…

Collaborative Commerce (C-Commerce)

Beim Collaborative Commerce, kurz C-Commerce, sind alle wertschöpfenden Parteien eines Handelsprozesses von Beginn an miteinander vernetzt. Im Vergleich zum klassischen Handel, bei dem der Auftragseingang nur beim Händler/Hersteller selbst verbucht…

Lastenheft und Pflichtenheft in der Intralogistik

Das Lastenheft beinhaltet grundsätzlich die vom Auftraggeber vordefinierten und detailliert beschriebenen Projektanforderungen, die aus seiner Sicht nötig sind, um alle Anforderungen des Gesamtvorhabens erfolgreich umzusetzen. Das Pflichtenheft…

Losgröße

Die Losgröße definiert die Anzahl der Teile innerhalb einer Serie, die ohne Unterbrechung in einer Charge die Fertigung passieren. Werden Aufträge in einer Produktionscharge, Serie oder einem Batch zusammengefasst, hat dies wirtschaftliche Gründe,…

Lagerverwaltung oder das Warehouse-Management-System

Das Warehouse-Management-System (WMS), auch Lagerverwaltung genannt, ist eine unverzichtbare Software für die Steuerung und Verwaltung von Beständen (siehe auch Bestandsverwaltung) und Lagerorten innerhalb geschlossener Betriebe (bspw.…

Auftragsdisposition in der Intralogistik

Die Auftragsdisposition beschreibt die mengenmäßige Zuordnung und Verteilung von Aufgaben beziehungsweise Aufträgen auf interne verfügbare Ressourcen. Vor der Zuweisung sind die sogenannten Leistungsprofile (Aufwände) jedes Auftrags, beispielsweise…

Pareto-Effizienz in der Intralogistik

Die Orientierungsmethode Pareto-Effizienz (auch Pareto-Optimum) beschreibt einen theoretischen Zustand, ab dem die Optimierung eines Teil-Konstrukts (bspw. Teil einer Anlage) zwangsläufig die gegenläufige Entwicklung einer anderen Teil-Komponente…

CMR: der Frachtbrief

Die Bezeichnung CMR stammt aus dem Französischen, Convention relative au contrat de transport international de marchandises par route, und beschreibt das Übereinkommen aller beteiligten Staaten über den Beförderungsvertrag im internationalen…

Subkontraktor

Der Subkontraktor ist der Vertragspartner, der von einem Hauptlieferanten beziehungsweise auch Generalunternehmer für ein Großprojekt mit unterschiedlichen Gewerken beauftragt wird um lediglich eine Teil-Dienstleistung zu erbringen. Er agiert als…

Was kann die Logistik leisten?

In den letzten Jahrzehnten hat sich der Begriff „Logistik“ zu einem Allgemeinbegriff entwickelt. Das ist gut so. Aber nicht so gut ist, dass „Logistik“ – insbesondere in den Medien – vielfach falsch verwendet wird und in manchen Unternehmen für alle…

Planungswerkzeug Zeittrichter in Logistik & SCM

Bei der gemeinsamen Planung der produktionssynchronen Abrufe (PAB) von kompletten Baugruppen und Komponenten eines OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) beispielsweise im Automotive Bereich und des Systemlieferanten (sog. 1st-Tier-Lieferanten)…

Stock Keeping Unit (SKU)

Das Akronym SKU, Stock Keeping Unit, beschreibt eine eindeutig identifizierbare Lagereinheit. Eine Lagereinheit umfasst dabei alle identischen Artikel einer bestimmten Produktvariante. Für die Identifikation wird ein Code auf der jeweiligen SKU…

Komplexitätskosten – Zwei Seiten einer Medaille?

Wer kennt nicht die legendäre Aussage von Henry Ford, “any customer can have a car painted any colour that he wants so long as it is black”. Wie sehr hat sich seitdem die Welt gewandelt, von Verkäufermärkten zu Käufermärkten? Kunden stellen immer…

Kommissionierzeiten – Basiszeit

Die Basiszeit ist in der Kommissionierung der zeitliche Aufwand, der für eine Kommissionierung zwar erforderlich ist, aber ausschließlich organisatorische Tätigkeiten vor und nach jedem Kommissioniervorgang beschreibt. Die Kommissionierung steht…

Studie: LKW auf Schienen – ELANS, die AutoBahn der Zukunft?

Wie wäre es, längere Strecken mit dem LKW zurück zu legen ohne zu lenken? Und das umweltfreundlich, kostenneutral und mit einer durchschnittlichen Reisegeschwindigkeit, welche um ein Drittel höher liegt als auf Autobahnen möglich? Unter anderem…

Worum geht es im Supply Chain Management?

Im Mittelpunkt des Managements steht der Mensch als handelndes Wesen, als homo agens. Im Supply Chain Management steht überdies der Mensch als zusammenhandelndes Wesen, als homo co-agens, im Zentrum der Betrachtung. Durch das bewusste,…

Kosten der Ungeduld im Supply Chain Management

Produkte und Dienstleistungen sind das Ergebnis des Zusammenspiels komplexer Prozesse zahlreicher Beteiligter entlang der Wertschöpfungskette (Supply Chain). Die Werte, die entlang der Supply Chain geschöpft werden, weisen einige wesentliche…

Die Materialflusssteuerung als Dienstleistung für ein Distributionszentrum

Als Materialflusssteuerung, auch Materialflussrechner oder Material Flow Control System (MFCS), wird sehr häufig eine direkt einer Förderanlage zugeordnete Auftragsverwaltung bezeichnet. Diese Sicht aber wird der Aufgabe nicht gerecht, wenn in einem…

Abbau von Überbeständen

Eine der häufigsten Anforderungen von Unternehmungen an ihre Mitarbeiter in Logistik und Supply Chain ist der dringliche Abbau von Überbeständen. Das bemerkenswerte an dieser Handlungsanweisung ist, dass in der Praxis so getan wird, als ob diese…

Fahrerlose Transportsysteme (FTS)

Vom Fachausschuss des VDI (Verein Deutscher Ingenieure) werden fahrerlose Transportsysteme (FTS) als innerbetriebliche, flurgebundene Systeme mit automatisch gesteuerten Transportfahrzeugen beschrieben. "Fahrerlose Transportsysteme, kurz FTS, sind…

Quadratwurzelgesetz der Logistik

Ein Disponentenrätsel: "Wie hoch muss der Teilebestand sein, wenn zwei gleichgeartete dezentrale Lager zu einem Zentrallager zusammengelegt werden, sich sonst keine relevanten Veränderungen ergeben und die Teilebestände in den dezentralen Lägern vor…

Cut-off-Zeit in der Intralogistik

Die Cut-off-Zeit beschreibt in der Intralogistik den Zeitpunkt, zu dem eine Bestellung das Lager verlassen muss und an den Transporteur übergeben wird, sodass sie noch innerhalb eines vorab definierten Zeitraums lieferbar ist. Auf der anderen Seite…

Das Zeitungsjungenmodell (Newsvendor Modell) im SCM

Zahlreiche Ansätze des Supply Chain Management (SCM) lassen sich mit dem Zeitungsjungenmodell (Newsvendor Modell - NVM) erklären. Dieses Modell, - das ursprünglich aus dem Bestandsmanagement kommt - bewertet sowohl die Kosten zu hoher Bestände als…

Von der Pünktlichkeit zur belastbaren Termintreue (ATP)

Wie rasch wir mit der Alltagserfahrung an unsere eigenen Grenzen stoßen, soll dieser Beitrag zeigen. Es geht um den Alltagsbegriff "Pünktlichkeit", der aber im Supply Chain Management eine eminente Rolle spielt. Vor allem die belastbare…

Funktion und Vorteile des Ameisenalgorithmus

Der Ameisenalgorithmus, in der Literatur auch häufig Ant Colony Optimization (ACO) genannt, ist ein Algorithmus zur näherungsweisen Lösung von komplexen Optimierungsproblemen. Dieses, auch als Metaheuristik bezeichnete Verfahren der kombinatorischen…

Die Kosten nicht genutzter Chancen im Supply Chain Management

Kein Unternehmen kann es sich leisten, die Kostenseite nicht im Griff zu haben. Als Grundlage dafür dienen die Zahlen der Finanzbuchhaltung. Vielfach daraus abgeleitet entstehen daraus die Zahlen für die Kostenrechnung der Unternehmungen. Ein Blick…

„Logistiker der Zukunft“ – Supply Chain Manager

Die Werkstoffe des "klassischen Logistikers" sind Zeit und Raum; er verbindet dieses untrennbare Paar zu einer für jedes Unternehmen gewinnbringenden Ordnung. Da Zeit und Raum in unserer Welt sehr knapp sind, sind sie die wesentlichen werthaltigen…

Ergonomie im Lager

Ergonomie im Lager

Ergonomie im Lager zielt auf die Anpassung und Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen, die unter der…

Bundled cardboard on a palet for recycling

Rückwärtslogistik

Während die Logistik den Produktionsweg hin zum Kunden abbildet, schließt die Rückwärtslogistik,…

E-Commerce

E-Commerce: der Onlinehandel

E-Commerce, auch Electronic Commerce, steht für den elektronischen Handel im Internet. Dabei werden…

Doppeltiefe Lagerung

Doppeltiefe Lagerung

Die doppeltiefe Lagerung ist eine Lagerstrategie, die es durch den Einsatz spezieller Lagerregale…

C-Commerce

Collaborative Commerce (C-Commerce)

Beim Collaborative Commerce, kurz C-Commerce, sind alle wertschöpfenden Parteien eines…

Lastenheft-und-Pflichtenheft-in-der-Intralogistik

Lastenheft und Pflichtenheft in der Intralogistik

Das Lastenheft beinhaltet grundsätzlich die vom Auftraggeber vordefinierten und detailliert…

Losgröße

Die Losgröße definiert die Anzahl der Teile innerhalb einer Serie, die ohne Unterbrechung in einer…

CMR: der Frachtbrief

Die Bezeichnung CMR stammt aus dem Französischen, Convention relative au contrat de transport…

Subkontraktor

Der Subkontraktor ist der Vertragspartner, der von einem Hauptlieferanten beziehungsweise auch…

Was kann die Logistik leisten?

Was kann die Logistik leisten?

In den letzten Jahrzehnten hat sich der Begriff „Logistik“ zu einem Allgemeinbegriff entwickelt.…

Zeittrichter

Planungswerkzeug Zeittrichter in Logistik & SCM

Bei der gemeinsamen Planung der produktionssynchronen Abrufe (PAB) von kompletten Baugruppen und…

Stock Keeping Unit (SKU)

Das Akronym SKU, Stock Keeping Unit, beschreibt eine eindeutig identifizierbare Lagereinheit. Eine…

Komplexitätskosten

Komplexitätskosten – Zwei Seiten einer Medaille?

Wer kennt nicht die legendäre Aussage von Henry Ford, “any customer can have a car painted any…

Kommissionierzeiten – Basiszeit

Kommissionierzeiten – Basiszeit

Die Basiszeit ist in der Kommissionierung der zeitliche Aufwand, der für eine Kommissionierung zwar…

Studie: LKW auf Schienen – ELANS, die AutoBahn der Zukunft?

Wie wäre es, längere Strecken mit dem LKW zurück zu legen ohne zu lenken? Und das umweltfreundlich,…

Worum geht es im Supply Chain Management?

Worum geht es im Supply Chain Management?

Im Mittelpunkt des Managements steht der Mensch als handelndes Wesen, als homo agens. Im Supply…

Kosten der Ungeduld im Supply Chain Management

Produkte und Dienstleistungen sind das Ergebnis des Zusammenspiels komplexer Prozesse zahlreicher…

Abbau von Überbeständen

Eine der häufigsten Anforderungen von Unternehmungen an ihre Mitarbeiter in Logistik und Supply…

Fahrerlose Transportsysteme (FTS)

Fahrerlose Transportsysteme (FTS)

Vom Fachausschuss des VDI (Verein Deutscher Ingenieure) werden fahrerlose Transportsysteme (FTS)…

Quadratwurzelgesetz der Logistik

Ein Disponentenrätsel: "Wie hoch muss der Teilebestand sein, wenn zwei gleichgeartete dezentrale…

Cut-off-Zeit in der Intralogistik

Cut-off-Zeit in der Intralogistik

Die Cut-off-Zeit beschreibt in der Intralogistik den Zeitpunkt, zu dem eine Bestellung das Lager…

Das Zeitungsjungenmodell (Newsvendor Modell) im SCM

Zahlreiche Ansätze des Supply Chain Management (SCM) lassen sich mit dem Zeitungsjungenmodell…

Von der Pünktlichkeit zur belastbaren Termintreue (ATP)

Wie rasch wir mit der Alltagserfahrung an unsere eigenen Grenzen stoßen, soll dieser Beitrag…

Ameisenalgorithmus

Funktion und Vorteile des Ameisenalgorithmus

Der Ameisenalgorithmus, in der Literatur auch häufig Ant Colony Optimization (ACO) genannt, ist ein…

Die Kosten nicht genutzter Chancen im Supply Chain Management

Kein Unternehmen kann es sich leisten, die Kostenseite nicht im Griff zu haben. Als Grundlage dafür…

„Logistiker der Zukunft“ – Supply Chain Manager

Die Werkstoffe des "klassischen Logistikers" sind Zeit und Raum; er verbindet dieses untrennbare…

Also available in English (Englisch)