What are you looking for?

The Newsvendor Model in SCM

Many supply chain management (SCM) approaches can be explained using the Newsvendor Model (NVM). This model, which originally comes from inventory management, evaluates both the costs of excessively high inventories and the costs of excessively low…

Function and advantages of the ant algorithm

The Ant Algorithm, also often called Ant Colony Optimization (ACO) in the literature, is an algorithm for the approximate solution of complex optimization problems. This method of combinatorial optimization, also known as metaheuristics, is based on…

The cost of unused opportunities in supply chain management

No company can afford not to have the cost side under control. The figures from financial accounting serve as the basis for this. In many cases, the figures for the companies' cost accounting are derived from this. A look into the cost accounting of…

Ship to Line / the direct provision of goods

In the case of ship to line or direct provision of inventory, the supplier/manufacturer assembles the shipment and delivers it directly to the point of consumption - without the need for the customer's warehouse or logistics. By taking over the…

Definition – The Milk Run Concept

The milk run concept is a method for optimizing inter-company procurement logistics, often used in conjunction with just-in-time production. Based on existing consumption values, it describes a logistics supply cycle in which goods or empties are…

The degree of utilisation/the capacity utilisation

The degree of capacity utilisation describes the proportion of the capacity used by resources/operating resources (plant, machinery, employees, energy) measured against the total available capacity - always in relation to the completion of a work…

Definition of Accounting / Bookkeeping

The term accounting describes the comprehensive recording, storage and analysis or evaluation of all measurable business transactions/processes in a company. For this purpose, profit and balance sheet ratios from the general accounting are set in…

Buffer line

A buffer section is used to intercept jams within the material flow, to avoid bottlenecks and idle time within different processes and to collect inventories for forwarding. It can be integrated fully automatically into the flow of goods, but can…

Information in intralogistics

Information describes the meaningful content of a message, which is of value for the recipient. The receiver can be either a human or a machine. The sent or received information does not contain irrelevant or redundant transmissions. In the…

Returns processing

Returns handling describes several processes in the return of goodsordered - mostly - online. They are processed and handled by the distribution centeraccording to the client's specifications. Looking at returns processing as a whole, the process…

Storage capacity/storage economy

Storage capacity is defined as the maximum number of loading units that a warehouse can hold. It also represents the actual capacity of a warehouse. It directly relates to the size of the storage area, the height of the warehouse (usable space), the…

Host system (ERP system)

The host system (usually an ERP system) is a central data processing system that can be accessed simultaneously by different computer systems and programs. Furthermore, in most cases the database(s) is/are also installed on the host. A host can be…

Definition of order processing in intralogistics

Order processing includes all formal processes such as order transmission, data processing and order control; measured from the time the order is placed to the receipt of the so-called shipment documents (invoice). The physical receipt of the goods…

Heijunka lean method

The Japanese lean method Heijunka pushes a production where the production flow of the parts market is continuously guaranteed despite market fluctuations. This avoids transport and idle times and distributes the time needed for materials over the…

Assortment width and assortment depth

The assortment available in a warehouse and in the retail trade is subdivided into the assortment dimensions assortment width and assortment depth. The assortment width describes the range of different merchandise, the assortment depth the variety…

Modularization of materials handling equipment – approach to a standardized system architecture

The current market development shows the following challenges: New component technologies require new measures to be taken Uncoordinated function modelling leads to fragmentation Large projects can only be managed with extreme engineering effort…

Lean Production

Lean Production describes a method with the goal to react quickly to outside influences on production systems. This is a concept that affects the efficiency increase of all company activities within a value chain. This includes, for example, the…

The distribution center

A distribution center is an interface in the form of a building complex that functions exclusively within a logistics network. This can be a warehouse, a transshipment point or both in combination. Usually it is the combination in which goods are…

Order throughput time

When an order is received in a logistics centre, it passes through various processes until it is completed. For each of these individual processes, the lead time is measured. If you add the lead times of the individual processes, you get the total…

The barcode – EAN, GTIN and GS1 standard

Barcodes have successfully established themselves over other systems in recent years. The barcode is a binary code consisting of an array of parallel bars and separation gaps. These are arranged according to a predetermined image and are interpreted…

Temperature-controlled logistics (environmental measurement)

The market for temperature-controlled logistics in particular has been growing in volume over the past few years. Refrigerated and frozen foods, as well as medication logistics, rely on the benefits of RFID technology. The core functions in such…

Overview and definition of ident carriers

In order to be able to identify an object without any doubt throughout the entire logistics chain, it can be determined by an identifier. This ident carrier is generated by an identification system. The components of an ident system consist of a…

Production management

According to business economist Werner Kern, production management is an operational service provision. "Production is any kind of internal transformation of goods into higher-value goods". In his opinion, terms such as production, costs, planning,…

Data Mart: the local warehouse database analysis

Data mart describes the use of a database that is only a department-specific part of the overall data warehouse. For this reason, it is also referred to as the departmental database. Generally, such an extract from the entire database is used to…

Overview – Serial Shipping Container Code (SSCC)

Each shipping unit, which can be a pallet or a carton, for example, is automatically assigned a "Serial Shipping Container Code" (prev. "Serial Shipping Container Code" (SSCC)). This is a globally unique and unmistakable sequence of digits that…

Defintion and advantages of consignment

The term consignment refers to a form of delivery of goods in which the supplier acts as consignor and the customer as the consignee. The consignor is the owner of the goods until either an agreed period expires or the consignee removes the goods…

FEM 9.831 Calculation basis for stacker cranes for high-bay warehouses

FEM 9.831 is a standard for the use of stacker cranes in high-bay warehouses. The standard specifies tolerances, deformations and clearances for stacker cranes in high-bay warehouses. It applies to high-bay warehouses with stacker cranes that…

Distance selling contract

A distance contract is a contract concluded between an entrepreneur and a consumer by means of distance communication. The means of distance communication include letters, catalogs, telephone calls, faxes, e-mails as well as radio and other media…

Definition of Same Day Delivery

Same Day Delivery means that inventory is delivered on the same day it was ordered. Ordered today, delivered tomorrow is already a standard with some e-commerce distributors. The next step is same day delivery. Intralogistics requirements for…

Master data

In intralogistics, master data, also known as primary data or reference data, is data that contains operationally relevant information. This includes information about products, suppliers and customers, for example. Individual data is assigned to an…

Inventory costs

Inventory costs are costs that arise from the movement of product goods in the warehouse or…

No-Line Commerce

No-line commerce represents the highest level of development in e-commerce at present. All…

Warehouse functions

Functions of the warehouse

When considering the functions of a warehouse, the purpose of the warehouse arrangement is in the…

Definition – Omni-Channel

Omni-Channel focuses on the further development of multi and cross-channel distribution paths in…

Inventory management in intralogistics, incl. stock and stock reconciliation

Inventory management stands for the complete digital recording of all stock movements in…

Definition – Cross-Channel

Cross-Channel enables a cross-distribution channel purchasing process in which customers combine…

Definition – Multi-Channel

Multi-Channel describes the possibility to offer commerce (B2B and B2C) on several distribution…

Ergonomics in the warehouse

Ergonomics in the warehouse aims at the adaptation and creation of workstations which, taking into…

Reverse logistics

While logistics represents the production route to the customer, reverse logistics, also known as…

E-Commerce: the online marketplace

E-commerce, or electronic commerce, is the term for electronic commerce on the Internet. The…

Specifications and requirement documents in intralogistics

The specification sheet generally contains the project requirements predefined and described in…

CMR: the consignment note

The term CMR comes from the French, Convention relative au Contrat de transport international de…

What can logistics accomplish?

In recent decades, the term "logistics" has developed into a general term. This is a good thing.…

Stock Keeping Unit (SKU)

The acronym SKU, Stock Keeping Unit, describes a clearly identifiable storage unit. A storage unit…

Picking times – base time

In picking, the base time is the time required for picking. It only describes organisational…

What is the logic behind supply chain management?

At the center of managementis the individual as an acting being, as homo agens. In supply chain…

Automated guided vehicles (AGVs)

From the technical committee of the VDI (Association of German Engineers), automated guided…

Cut-off time in intralogistics

In intralogistics, the cut-off time describes the time at which an order must leave the warehouse…

The Newsvendor Model in SCM

Many supply chain management (SCM) approaches can be explained using the Newsvendor Model (NVM).…

Ant algorithm

Function and advantages of the ant algorithm

The Ant Algorithm, also often called Ant Colony Optimization (ACO) in the literature, is an…

Definition – The Milk Run Concept

The milk run concept is a method for optimizing inter-company procurement logistics, often used in…

Also available in Deutsch (German)

Wenn in der Logistik Risikominimierung zum Risiko wird

Logistische Entscheidungen sind letztlich wirtschaftliche Entscheidungen. Dies betrifft beispielsweise größere Investitionen in die Lager- und Fördertechnik. Nachdem also alle möglichen technischen, informatorischen und organisatorischen…

Das Ende der 6 R der Logistik? – Teil 1

Die Aufgaben der Logistik und des Logistikers werden mit den berühmten 6 R einprägsam dargestellt. Die 6 R der Logistik sind die sogenannten "sechs Richtigen": die richtigen Produkte in der richtigen Qualität mit der richtigen Menge am richtigen…

Zweistufige Kommissionierung

Im Gegensatz zur einstufigen Kommissionierung werden bei der zweistufigen Kommissionierung mehrere Aufträge zu einem Gesamtauftrag, einer sogenannten Kommission, gebündelt, artikelorientiert kommissioniert und erst später auftragsorientiert gepackt.…

Schwarmintelligenz – Was wir Logistiker von Ameisen lernen können – Teil II

Sie denken vielleicht, das Gewicht eines Ochsen zu schätzen, wie in Teil 1 dieses Beitrags beschrieben, ist wohl kaum eine komplexe Aufgabe. Aber die genannten Mechanismen können bei der Lösung weit komplexerer Probleme des logistischen Umfelds…

Schwarmintelligenz – Was wir Logistiker von Ameisen lernen können – Teil I

Sicherlich verwenden Sie ein Navigationssystem. Dann verlassen Sie sich also bereits auf die Leistung von Ameisen und die Schwarmintellingenz. Warum? Weil die gängigen Navis mit dem sogenannten Ameisenalgorithmus programmiert sind und dieser Ihnen…

Optimierung mittels Prozesskettenmanagement

Das Prozesskettenmanagement dient zum Organisieren von Geschäftsprozessen in der Intralogistik und anderen industriellen Segmenten. Laut Otto Schlichtherle, Logistik-IT-Beratung, verbindet es das prozessorientierte Denken mit der Ausrichtung der…

Umlaufförderer (Paternoster)

Der Umlaufförderer bewegt über parallelgeführte Endlosketten (Zugmittel) die fest installierten, ständig zirkulierenden und stets aufrechtstehenden Lastenträger sowie das darin gelagerte Stückgut. Da ein Umlaufförderer auf der gesamten Kettenlänge…

Verteilte Auftragsabwicklung (Distributed Order Management)

Eine verteilte Auftragsabwicklung, engl. Distributed Order Management, erfordert grundsätzlich die Berücksichtigung von allen an einem Auftrag beteiligten Unternehmen sowie verantwortlichen Personen. Produzenten, Logistiker, Lieferanten und Händler…

Vertikale Integration im Einzelhandel

Die vertikale Integration steht für Einzelhandelsunternehmen, die über verschiedene Stufen der Supply Chain Einfluss nehmen. Die enge Kooperation zwischen Industrie und Handel steht dabei im Vordergrund. Marken etwa präsentieren sich häufig über…

Die Flächenrentabilität des lokalen Handels

Die Flächenrentabilität gibt Auskunft über die finanzielle Lukrativität eines Händlers. Diese umfasst die im Laden vorhandenen Abteilungen, Warengruppen und die einzelnen Sortimente. Es gilt: Die Flächenrentabilität zeigt auf, wie hoch der Umsatz…

Die Händlerintegration (Ship-from-Store)

Die Händlerintegration steht für den Ausbau eines bestehenden Vertriebsnetzes einer Marke, eines Internet-Pure-Players oder eines Verbands durch die Integration des stationären Handels in die eigene E-Commerce-Strategie. Zu diesem Zweck wird zur…

Bestandskosten

Bestandskosten sind Kosten, die durch die Bewegung von Produktgütern im Lager bzw. Distributionszentrum entstehen. Dabei handelt es sich um eine Kennzahl aus der Betriebswirtschaft. Bestandskosten im Allgemeinen beinhalten z.B. die Lagermiete,…

No-Line-Commerce

No-Line-Commerce steht für die derzeit höchste Entwicklungsstufe des E-Commerce. Sämtliche online und offline verfügbaren Vertriebskanäle sind informationstechnisch miteinander vernetzt und bilden zusammen mit den Vermarktungskanälen ein Gesamtbild.…

Funktionen des Lagers

Bei der Betrachtung der Funktionen eines Lagers steht der Zweck der Lagerung im Vordergrund. Die Definition setzt sich aus den Unterpunkten Sicherungs- und Bereitstellungsfunktion, aus der Ausgleichsfunktion, aus der Produktionsfunktion sowie aus…

Omni-Channel

Omni-Channel setzt im Onlinehandel auf eine Weiterentwicklung der Vertriebswege Multi- und Cross-Channel: sämtliche Absatzkanäle können gleichzeitig genutzt werden. Damit der lateinische Begriff Omni (alles, ganz, jeder) „kaufmännisch“ greift, sind…

Bestandsverwaltung in der Intralogistik, inkl. Bestand und Bestandsabgleich

Die Bestandsverwaltung oder auch Bestandsführung steht für die lückenlose digitale Aufzeichnung sämtlicher Bestandsbewegungen in der Intralogistik, um zu jedem Zeitpunkt zuverlässige Aussagen über Lagerort (wo?), Menge (wieviel?) und Qualität (was?)…

Definition – Cross-Channel

Cross-Channel ermöglicht einen vertriebswegübergreifenden Einkaufsprozess, bei dem Kunden im Rahmen ihres Informations- und Kaufprozesses unterschiedliche Vertriebskanäle kombinieren. Der Kunde bestellt seine Ware beispielsweise im Onlineshop und…

Multi-Channel

Multi-Channel beschreibt die Möglichkeit, den Handel (B2B und B2C) auf mehreren Vertriebskanälen gleichzeitig anzubieten. Die Kanäle, die der jeweilige Anbieter zur Verfügung stellt, funktionieren nebeneinander, nicht aber miteinander: Der…

Ergonomie im Lager

Ergonomie im Lager zielt auf die Anpassung und Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen, die unter der Berücksichtigung der menschlichen Physis dem Arbeiter eine möglichst komfortable Verrichtung von Tätigkeiten ermöglicht. Dem entgegengesetzt verläuft auf den…

Rückwärtslogistik

Während die Logistik den Produktionsweg hin zum Kunden abbildet, schließt die Rückwärtslogistik, auch Rückführlogistik genannt, diesen Halbkreis mit einer möglichst effizienten Planung, Steuerung und Entsorgung von Materialien zu einem ökonomischen…

E-Commerce: der Onlinehandel

E-Commerce, auch Electronic Commerce, steht für den elektronischen Handel im Internet. Dabei werden die Geschäftsprozesse zwischen Unternehmen sowie die kaufmännischen Geschäftsbeziehungen zwischen Unternehmen und Verbrauchern abgebildet. E-Commerce…

Doppeltiefe Lagerung

Die doppeltiefe Lagerung ist eine Lagerstrategie, die es durch den Einsatz spezieller Lagerregale und Regalbediengeräte ermöglicht, zwei Lagereinheiten hintereinander im selben Regalfach zu lagern. Die Regalfächer sind entsprechend tiefer; sprich…

Collaborative Commerce (C-Commerce)

Beim Collaborative Commerce, kurz C-Commerce, sind alle wertschöpfenden Parteien eines Handelsprozesses von Beginn an miteinander vernetzt. Im Vergleich zum klassischen Handel, bei dem der Auftragseingang nur beim Händler/Hersteller selbst verbucht…

Lastenheft und Pflichtenheft in der Intralogistik

Das Lastenheft beinhaltet grundsätzlich die vom Auftraggeber vordefinierten und detailliert beschriebenen Projektanforderungen, die aus seiner Sicht nötig sind, um alle Anforderungen des Gesamtvorhabens erfolgreich umzusetzen. Das Pflichtenheft…

Losgröße

Die Losgröße definiert die Anzahl der Teile innerhalb einer Serie, die ohne Unterbrechung in einer Charge die Fertigung passieren. Werden Aufträge in einer Produktionscharge, Serie oder einem Batch zusammengefasst, hat dies wirtschaftliche Gründe,…

Lagerverwaltung oder das Warehouse-Management-System

Das Warehouse-Management-System (WMS), auch Lagerverwaltung genannt, ist eine unverzichtbare Software für die Steuerung und Verwaltung von Beständen (siehe auch Bestandsverwaltung) und Lagerorten innerhalb geschlossener Betriebe (bspw.…

Auftragsdisposition in der Intralogistik

Die Auftragsdisposition beschreibt die mengenmäßige Zuordnung und Verteilung von Aufgaben beziehungsweise Aufträgen auf interne verfügbare Ressourcen. Vor der Zuweisung sind die sogenannten Leistungsprofile (Aufwände) jedes Auftrags, beispielsweise…

Pareto-Effizienz in der Intralogistik

Die Orientierungsmethode Pareto-Effizienz (auch Pareto-Optimum) beschreibt einen theoretischen Zustand, ab dem die Optimierung eines Teil-Konstrukts (bspw. Teil einer Anlage) zwangsläufig die gegenläufige Entwicklung einer anderen Teil-Komponente…

CMR: der Frachtbrief

Die Bezeichnung CMR stammt aus dem Französischen, Convention relative au contrat de transport international de marchandises par route, und beschreibt das Übereinkommen aller beteiligten Staaten über den Beförderungsvertrag im internationalen…

Subkontraktor

Der Subkontraktor ist der Vertragspartner, der von einem Hauptlieferanten beziehungsweise auch Generalunternehmer für ein Großprojekt mit unterschiedlichen Gewerken beauftragt wird um lediglich eine Teil-Dienstleistung zu erbringen. Er agiert als…

Wenn in der Logistik Risikominimierung zum Risiko wird

Wenn in der Logistik Risikominimierung zum Risiko wird

Logistische Entscheidungen sind letztlich wirtschaftliche Entscheidungen. Dies betrifft…

Das Ende der 6 R der Logistik?

Das Ende der 6 R der Logistik? – Teil 1

Die Aufgaben der Logistik und des Logistikers werden mit den berühmten 6 R einprägsam dargestellt.…

Zweistufige Kommissionierung erfordert im Vorfeld eine gute Planung, speziell in Sachen Sorter-Auswahl.

Zweistufige Kommissionierung

Im Gegensatz zur einstufigen Kommissionierung werden bei der zweistufigen Kommissionierung mehrere…

Das Prozesskettenmanagement setzt neben der Potenzialanalyse viele weitere Analysen voraus.

Optimierung mittels Prozesskettenmanagement

Das Prozesskettenmanagement dient zum Organisieren von Geschäftsprozessen in der Intralogistik und…

Umlaufförderer des Pharmavertriebsunternehmen GLS bei Kassel.

Umlaufförderer (Paternoster)

Der Umlaufförderer bewegt über parallelgeführte Endlosketten (Zugmittel) die fest installierten,…

Einen reibungslosen Informationsaustausch zwischen unterschiedlichen Unternehmen beschreibt die verteilte Auftragsabwicklung.

Verteilte Auftragsabwicklung (Distributed Order Management)

Eine verteilte Auftragsabwicklung, engl. Distributed Order Management, erfordert grundsätzlich die…

Vertikale Integration - Unternehmen kontrollieren vor- und nachgelagerte Prozesse außerhalb des Unternehmens.

Vertikale Integration im Einzelhandel

Die vertikale Integration steht für Einzelhandelsunternehmen, die über verschiedene Stufen der…

Flächenrentabilität setzt auf Kundenströme

Die Flächenrentabilität des lokalen Handels

Die Flächenrentabilität gibt Auskunft über die finanzielle Lukrativität eines Händlers. Diese…

Händlerintegration steht auch für Ship-to-Store

Die Händlerintegration (Ship-from-Store)

Die Händlerintegration steht für den Ausbau eines bestehenden Vertriebsnetzes einer Marke, eines…

Bestandskosten werden auch durch Bewegung von Güter verursacht.

Bestandskosten

Bestandskosten sind Kosten, die durch die Bewegung von Produktgütern im Lager bzw.…

No-Line-Commerce ist im Onlinehandel das Ziel.

No-Line-Commerce

No-Line-Commerce steht für die derzeit höchste Entwicklungsstufe des E-Commerce. Sämtliche online…

Funktionen des Lagers

Funktionen des Lagers

Bei der Betrachtung der Funktionen eines Lagers steht der Zweck der Lagerung im Vordergrund. Die…

Omni-Channel im Detail

Omni-Channel

Omni-Channel setzt im Onlinehandel auf eine Weiterentwicklung der Vertriebswege Multi- und…

Bestandsverwaltung

Bestandsverwaltung in der Intralogistik, inkl. Bestand und Bestandsabgleich

Die Bestandsverwaltung oder auch Bestandsführung steht für die lückenlose digitale Aufzeichnung…

Cross-Channel

Definition – Cross-Channel

Cross-Channel ermöglicht einen vertriebswegübergreifenden Einkaufsprozess, bei dem Kunden im Rahmen…

Multichannel ohne E-Commerce gibt es nicht.

Multi-Channel

Multi-Channel beschreibt die Möglichkeit, den Handel (B2B und B2C) auf mehreren Vertriebskanälen…

Ergonomie im Lager

Ergonomie im Lager

Ergonomie im Lager zielt auf die Anpassung und Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen, die unter der…

Bundled cardboard on a palet for recycling

Rückwärtslogistik

Während die Logistik den Produktionsweg hin zum Kunden abbildet, schließt die Rückwärtslogistik,…

E-Commerce

E-Commerce: der Onlinehandel

E-Commerce, auch Electronic Commerce, steht für den elektronischen Handel im Internet. Dabei werden…

Doppeltiefe Lagerung

Doppeltiefe Lagerung

Die doppeltiefe Lagerung ist eine Lagerstrategie, die es durch den Einsatz spezieller Lagerregale…

C-Commerce

Collaborative Commerce (C-Commerce)

Beim Collaborative Commerce, kurz C-Commerce, sind alle wertschöpfenden Parteien eines…

Lastenheft-und-Pflichtenheft-in-der-Intralogistik

Lastenheft und Pflichtenheft in der Intralogistik

Das Lastenheft beinhaltet grundsätzlich die vom Auftraggeber vordefinierten und detailliert…

Losgröße

Die Losgröße definiert die Anzahl der Teile innerhalb einer Serie, die ohne Unterbrechung in einer…

CMR: der Frachtbrief

Die Bezeichnung CMR stammt aus dem Französischen, Convention relative au contrat de transport…

Subkontraktor

Der Subkontraktor ist der Vertragspartner, der von einem Hauptlieferanten beziehungsweise auch…

Also available in English (Englisch)